Four nurses received the President’s Award for Nurses this year. They received their award from President Tony Tan Keng Yam at the Nurses’ Day Reception at the Istana on 28 July 2016.

The highest accolade of the nursing profession, the national award recognises outstanding nurses who have shown sustained performance in their contributions to patient care, education, leadership, research and administration. Including the recipients this year, a total of 56 nurses have been given the award in its 17-year history.

All registered nurses working in the public and private healthcare institutions, community hospitals, nursing homes, hospices and educational institutions can be nominated for the award. Nominations can come from the healthcare institutions, public or peers. A panel, comprising the Chairman of the Health Government Parliamentary Committee, the Chief Nursing Officer (Ministry of Health), and Board Members of public institutions, will interview and select distinguished nurses from the nominees to receive the award.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Ms Chen Yee Chui
    Chief Nurse, National Healthcare Group Polyclinics
  • Ms Hanijah Binte Abdul Hamid
    Assistant Director of Nursing, Changi General Hospital
  • Mr Raveen Dev Ram Dev
    Senior Nurse Clinician & Advanced Practice Nurse, Institute of Mental Health
  • Ms Lathy D/O Prabhakaran
    Senior Nurse Clinician, Tan Tock Seng Hospital

More information on the recipients is available in the Annex.

The award recipients each received a trophy, a certificate and a $10,000 cash prize that can be used to attend conferences and training programmes of their choice for professional and personal development.


Related Posts